malikalovenotes:

Very Good Read

Originally posted on AllHipHop.com:

Ten years ago today we lost one of Hip Hop’s dopest deejays and true pioneers, Jason Mizell aka Jam Master Jay of the legendary group Run DMC He was shot in killed in his studio in Queens. Like so many who have been murdered , not just in Hip Hop but in our own community, his murder is still unsolved.. I republishing the piece I wrote the day after his death 10 years ago. Its sadly still relevant today..Please read, reflect and improve.. RIP Jam Master Jay…..(Jan 21 1965- Oct 30-2002)

Jay’s like King Midas, as I was told,

everything that he touched turned to gold.

He’s the greatest of the great, get it straight he’s great.

Claim fame cause his name is known in every state.

His name is Jay to see him play will make you say:

“Gotdamn, that DJ made my day!”

-Run DMC… ‘Peter Piper’-

I’m…

View original 1,662 more words